photo Quotable mondays (pQm)

Here are three great quotes.

Photography is not about cameras, gadgets and gismos. Photography is about photographers. A camera didn’t make a great picture any more than a typewriter wrote a great novel. – Peter Adams – Sydney 19785 surfers

As photographers we sell *emotion not emulsion.* the tools are immaterial, the resulting piece is all important. – Jeff Adams

At our best and most fortunate we make pictures because of what stands before our camera, to honor what is greater and more interesting than we are. We never accomplish this perfectly, though in return we are given something perfect–a sense of inclusion. Our subject thus redefines us, and is part of the biography by which we want to be known. – Robert Adams

longboard surfer at hb pierWhen I first started taking photos all I had was my cell phone. It was simple and limited. It captured my imagination and fueled my passion. As I took pictures I found myself frustrated with limitations of the phone and wanted a better camera. My second camera was a borrowed point and shoot and it was simple and limited. I loved taking pictures with it but again found myself wanting more. Now my third camera is more complex and I’m limited by what I am able to do. The thing I discovered in the journey is that these first two quotes are right. It isn’t the equipment it is the photographer that makes the picture. The third quote reminds me of why I take photos and what I hope to happen every day that I pick up my camera. I want to see something bigger and greater than I am and I want others to see it too.

The first picture 5 surfers was taken with that old point and shoot. It is my favorite picture. The second, longboard surfer at hb pier was taken with my new camera. Both capture the bigger more atmospheric and transcendent qualities that I want to share and I think the first moves me more.

Leave a Reply

