photo Quotable mondays (pQm) 5/3/10

This then: to photograph a rock, have it look like a rock, but be more than a rock. Significant representations – not interpretation. – Edward Weston

I have been wrestling with trying to articulate what I strive to be significant when I make a photograph. One of the elements is that I strive to make each image transcendent and by this I mean that I want people to realize that there is more than just what they see there. I desire to see them connect with something larger or bigger than that simple moment when the shutter closed. I think this quote and the phrase significant representation, that Weston use puts some meat to this idea and gets us going in the right direction. My photo the painter’s hand to me captures that signifcant representation.

Leave a Reply

