photo Quotable mondays (pQm) 3-26-12

One of the first things I was introduced to when I started my interest in photography was the concept of seeing. I quickly discovered how much life I missed when walking through life. When I picked up the camera I actively slowed down my pace and started to see what was really around me. The idea of seeing in photography allows us to discover what we miss. Many photographers grasp this idea and make art with what they allow us to see. Here are a couple of quotes from one of my favorite photographers, Dorothea Lange, that talk about the important idea of seeing.

The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera.- Dorothea  Lange

While there is perhaps a province in which the photograph can tell us nothing more than what we see with our own eyes, there is another in which it proves to us how little our eyes permit us to see.                                                                                 – Dorothea  Lange

 Photo by Dorothea Lange

 

Leave a Reply

