Sacred and Secular in union on Sundays: Nature photography and showing God

Nature is an amazing thing and the more you experience it the more. I believe it reveals the greatness and goodness of God. Nature photography is one of the main passions in photography and through it I get a cool double benefit. First, I get to experience the greatness and goodness of God as he reveals it in every part of his creation.  The consistency and majesty of the work of his hands truly point to his love, care, provision and redemption. I think of Psalm 19 where the Psalmist declares that,

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard. Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world. In the heavens he has pitched a tent for the sun, which is like a bridegroom coming forth from his pavilion, like a champion rejoicing to run his course. It rises at one end of the heavens and makes its circuit to the other; nothing is hidden from its heat.”

Secondly, I get to draw attention to this great and good God who created all that we see around  us. I want to reveal his creative work in the world in everything image that I take. I want people to be brought into awe of God when they see the beauty of his creation whether it is a sunset, a beautiful wave, a majestic vista or even a person.  I want each image to reveal his intricate love and craftsman-like care over his creation. I want them to point to the hope that he is faithfully coming to transform and set all things to rights in Christ.My work provides a platform for me to reveal God and it provides a platform to then follow up with articulation of who he is, why we need him and what he has done in providing redemption.

Leave a Reply

