Sacred and Secular in Union on Sundays: Dependence and Asking

Ask and it will be given to you;seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds;and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good giftsto those who ask him!

One of the things that I am convinced of entirely intellectually is that God is good and his desire is to provide for and fulfill his promises to us as his children. Sometimes the struggle for me is in putting the rubber to the road with this reality. I often wonder why I struggle in living comfortably in this reality. To be honest I’m not sure there is a clear easy answer that explains answer to my inability to live trusting in God’s goodness in all areas in my life. I’m sure it is sinfulness, fear of vulnerability and fear of being disappointed.  This morning I’m not really interested in rambling on about the reason but reflecting on how do I begin to act in a way that puts this reality in to practice in my life and particularly into practice as I pursue my passion of becoming an artist.

Looking back over these verses quoted earlier from the Book of Matthew. Jesus starts out be saying ask, seek and knock. He doesn’t start by saying do your best and then come to God hesitantly and doubting for a little extra help when things aren’t going as you want. As I reflect on this I am realizing how often I try to take care of things on my own.  Then as a last resort my focus turns to God as being the one who can provide and open doors.

A new path here seems to be that we should always start everything from a perspective of asking God to provide. Jesus reminds us here that God is good and cares for us even more than a parent would care for and provide for his children. His goal isn’t to keep his blessing and provision from us.

As a photographer I believe that I have talent and skills that I use in creating beautiful compositions. I also believe that I need to work hard in developing my skills and marketing myself and my work. Asking doesn’t mean that we don’t work but asking means we have confidence that God is good and that he wants to bless and provide for us. Asking isn’t a magic spell either to force God to give us things. It means that we believe that God made us as people who have dreams, passions and skills that we can and should live pursing. It means that we know that God is concerned about these things. He wants us to find joy in him and in how we live life.

So today, I am starting to live life by asking God to open doors and provide opportunities for me to be the artist he is creating me to be. So today I’m starting to live in dependence on him to be the good God that he is and trusting that my gifts, passions and talents as an artist are as important to him as they are to me. Hopefully as you think about what Jesus said here in Matthew and how he has revealed himself to me through his scripture you will be drawn to consider where you can start to live asking, seeking and knocking on God’s door metaphorically for him to be the good God he is to you as well.

Leave a Reply

